My Life in Middlemarch

My review of My Life in Middlemarch by Rebecca Mead

I received a DRC of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review.

My Life in Middlemarch is a non-fiction book partially taking form of Mead’s literary memoir and part George Eliot Biography. I thought it was an effective and fresh way of approaching an author’s work that has been written about time and time again.

I read Middlemarch last year and really enjoyed it so I was excited to read about Eliot’s inspiration and experiences that went into the novel. Eliot was really a fascinating woman.

I liked the way that Mead merged her personal thoughts and experiences with her many readings of the novel as well as the experiences of George Eliot.

My favourite chapter was the one based on Eliot’s relationship with Lewe’s children from his marriage. It was very touching to see her hopes and expectations before meeting the boys and then their subsequent relations after they met. It was also interesting to see how she based certain characters in Middlemarch on the people in her life (in some way, not exactly carbon copies).

The only chapter I didn’t really like was the one that was based on Eliot’s looks. I know its pretty much obligatory to mention Eliot’s homeliness but I was pretty bored with that chapter. I was far more interested in her interactions with people and her writing experiences than her looks.

Leave a Reply

