My True Love Gave to Me

Review of My True Love Gave to Me edited by Stephanie Perkins (each story is rated)

Midnights by Rainbow Rowell – 2.5 stars

I liked her writing style and thought it was quite cute at times but I wasn’t a fan of the story. I think it would have been a lot better had it been written as a novella or full length novel. It just didn’t make sense to me why the two main characters had such a narrow window to get together. They’re best friends and spend a log of time together and seemingly have chemistry. Why do they have to wait until midnight on NYE to kiss or get romantically involved. Maybe if it were a longer story and the author explained why they couldn’t get together throughout the course of the year, I could get behind it. It was too passive aggressive for me.

The Lady and the Fox by Kelly Link 3/5
Ahhhh magic realism. So confusing yet wonderful. I enjoyed the story but I didn’t love it.

Angels in the Snow – Matt de la Pena 4/5
This story was sad yet sweet and tender.

Polaris is Where You’ll Find Me by Jenny Han 2.5/5
I started off really liking this one because if was set in the North Pole but ended up being annoyed by a few things: 1) too many commas. Holy crap, comma orgy; 2) love triangle complete with catty other female interest. So boring; and 3) giant elves. Are they related to sparkly vampires?
I didn’t hate it though and I was glad that the ending was ambiguous.

It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown 4.5/5
This story was adorable and very enjoyable

Your Temporary Santa by David Levithan 4/5
Very cute story

Krampuslauf by Holly Black 3/5
More magic realism. It was weird and a bit magical but it was just okay for me.

Sophie Roth by Gail Forman 4/5
I really liked this one. The characters were interesting and I like that they learned that not everything is as it appears.

Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus 2.5/5
Nothing wrong with this story but I simply wasn’t interested in it

Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White 4.5/5
I’m surprised by how much I liked this one. It was sweet and sentimental (in a good way)

Star of Bethlehem by Ally Carter 1/5
This one was my least favourite. I hated it for so many reasons. The Icelandic girl not knowing that her plane ticket was non-transferable…for reals?? Sorry, but this made the author look like an ignorant a-hole. Secondly, the girls switch tickets and somehow get through boarding security and land in Oklahoma and NYC respectively. Ok, I’ll accept this as a plausible premise but why does Lydia pretend to be Hulda and move in with the family?? Ridiculous. Then another thing happens that’s also pretty unlikely. My main problem with this story is that it drops a lot of implausible situations on the reader and expects us to accept it just because. It’s poor story telling and lazy, IMO. Not my cup of tea.

The Girl Who Woke the Dreamer by Lainie Taylor 3.5/5
I enjoyed this one but didn’t love it. Very interesting premise and would probably be better as a full length novel. I hated the names though 😛

Leave a Reply

