On Such a Full Sea

My review of On Such a Full Sea by Chang-Rae Lee

3.5 stars

I have mixed feelings about this book. On one hand, I enjoyed the story and thought it was a newish perspective on speculative fiction. On the other hand, I thought the pacing of the novel was off. Though I liked the narrator’s interjections throughout the book, I found that the placing of them was awkward and took away from the story. Also, I got bored of the author mentioning how itty bitty Fan is. I get it, she’s child-sized. No need to mention it every few pages.

The book is about the main protagonist, Fan, leaving her safe but boring society called B-Mor in order to find her missing boyfriend. She encounters nice people, scary people and crazy people along the way.

The characters are well drawn out and developed. The various landscapes and societies that Fan encounters were interesting and I often wanted to read more about them.

Leave a Reply

