The Bees by Laline Paull

5 Stars.  All the stars…

I don’t really know what to say about this book except that I LOVED it. Admittedly, I have a fondness/weakness for anthropomorphic stories where the personified creature is something that actually exists (not so much for dragons et al). This book is a combo of Watership Down (one of my faves) and Handmaid’s Tale but with bees.

It was amazing how the author made the life of an insect so interesting and realistic. I don’t know anything about the life of bees and I don’t care if it was accurate – it felt like it was.

Everything from the description of bees feeding to the architecture of the hive felt real and intricately designed. The book is so beautifully sensory that I could not stop thinking about honey for days after I finished the novel.

I listened to an audiobook version of this story and I have to say that the narrator did an amazing job. I HIGHLY recommend listening to it in this format. I also have a hardcover of this book that I kept going back to because I wanted to re-read some of the passages because they were so lovely.

*sigh* I’m sad it’s over 😦

Leave a Reply

