Review of The Virgin’s Spy by Laura Anderson

0804179387

The Virgin’s Spy by Laura Anderson

Page count: 336

Release Date: November 10, 2015

The Virgin’s Spy is book 2 in the Tudor Legacy series. After reading Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies earlier this year, I have been on a historical fiction kick.  I know that most authors writing about this era are not as eloquent as Hilary Mantel but I do enjoy reading books that are lighter and fun to read.  This is one of those books.  Once I started reading, it quickly became a page turner.  I wanted to know what was going to happen to all of the characters.

One thing that is particularly interesting about this series is that the author bases the stories around real historical figures but with a ‘what if’ twist. The author is very creative in this way and kept me intrigued through to the end.  Because I had no clue where each storyline was going, I kept turning those pages to find out.

The author is particularly strong with plots that involve political intrigue.  I was fascinated with the way that tension between England and Ireland was told as well as all of the alliances between kingdoms.  She excels in creating realistic events and bringing the characters in them to life.

The only negative for me were some of the romantic subplots.  They weren’t terrible or too cheesy but still too predictable for me to really enjoy.  That said, I think a lot of other readers would enjoy those subplots.

Over all, I would give the book 3.5/5 for being a fun and entertaining read.

I received a copy of a DRC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

4 thoughts on “Review of The Virgin’s Spy by Laura Anderson

  1. When I saw the title of this book on my dash (The Virgin’s Spy??) I thought ‘Oh God, this is going to be one of those soapy, melodramatic, mediocre historical fiction. I spent the majority of my junior high years obsessed with such books, so I know (laughs).

    But it’s nice to know the book is much better than that. I love me some political plotting and intrigue.

    Like

    1. Yes it has political intrigue but it has some soapy melodrama too. It was a fun read but I wouldn’t recommend it if you’re looking for depth haha. I was in the mood for brainless historical fiction and this was a bit better than that with the political plots

      Like

      1. To be fair, the Tudor dynasty was honestly one big soap opera. So we really should expect such from books capturing that period.

        Hahaha, don’t worry. I love middling historical fiction too. There are times when I really need it. You’ll drag my Jean Plaidy novels from me when my fingers are dead and cold.

        Like

Leave a Reply

