Review of Slade House by David Mitchell

24499258

My Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Publishing Date: October 27, 2015

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started this book because I hadn’t read The Bone Clocks, or any other novel by David Mitchell. Suffice to say, I was impressed.

The book effectively reads like a shortish story collection about different characters coming to Slade Alley every nine years. The stories are interconnected through some characters as well as some themes. Mitchell wove them together seamlessly and impressively.

What I really enjoyed was the repetitive structure of the ‘stories’ that followed certain patters but then always diverged in some ways. When I say repetitive, I do not mean to say that it was predictable or felt recycled. Each ‘story’ felt fresh and new in its own way.

I’m not sure what genre Slade House would be considered because it plays around with paranormal themes and is definitely creepy at times.

I was also happy that the story was easy to follow even though I hadn’t read The Bone Clocks. There were references made to it, including the titular name, but it can stand on its own legs. That said, I will definitely be picking up The Bone Clocks, hopefully sooner rather than later.

I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a creepyish Fall read as well as for anyone simply looking for good storytelling.

I received a copy of an unfinished proof DRC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This is one of those books that I will be picking up the finished copy of when it comes out.

2 thoughts on “Review of Slade House by David Mitchell

Leave a Reply

