Review of Ruby by Cynthia Bond

18283058

2.5 stars

I listened to the audiobook and partially read the physical book. The audiobook was narrated by the author and I thought she did a very good job with it.

I found the story to be interesting and it had some very engrossing scenes. I was always compelled to read (or listen) on to find out what happens to the characters.

The reason the book didn’t score higher was that I wasn’t a fan of the language. Bond uses very flowery and poetic language to tell the story and I simply didn’t enjoy it. I didn’t think it was overdone or silly, it just wasn’t for me. I actually think this is a book that a lot of readers would enjoy because of the language. If you’re someone that finds yourself highlighting poetic passages in books, then give this one a shot.

I should also add that this book contains some trigger warnings (violence, sexual abuse, race crimes, etc) so tread carefully if you’re sensitive to it. I don’t mind dark books that make me uncomfortable because they usually make me think, so it’s not something that would deter me from reading a book.

7 thoughts on “Review of Ruby by Cynthia Bond

    1. I feel your tbr pains!
      The language was very metaphoric but it didn’t seem cheesy or anything. It just wasn’t for me – I checked on goodreads to be sure and a lot of readers loved the poetic writing style.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Sure. Second paragraph of the book: “She wore gray like rain clouds and wandered the red roads in bared feet. Calluses as thick as boot leather. Hair caked in mud. Blackened nails as if she had scratched the slate of night. Her acres of legs carrying her, arms seating like a loose screen. Her eyes the ink of sky, just before the storm”.

      If my sister were reading the book, she’d be highlighting the crap out of it. For me, it felt too pretty. It felt like poetry in novel form and I avoid poetry like the plague. I think it was also weird for me because the language felt so poetic at times but something happened that was violent and devastating and the writing distracted me from it.

      Have you read this book yet? If not, I really do recommend it, especially if you like poetic writing.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m glad to hear that. I hope you enjoy it! It’s almost impossible not to find positive things about this book, so you will definitely enjoy it, especially if you like poetic language.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

