Review of Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffeneger

Unknown

My Rating: 2 stars out of 5

I took this book with me on vacation as a beach read and ended up reading it in two days – day 1, I was intrigued by the story and was enjoying the book (about 200 pages); day 2 I was bored out of my mind and ended up skimming the rest.

I liked the first chunk of the story because it felt fresh and new to me. Also, the parts when Clare was a child and Henry in his 40s was so creepy and weird that I was pulled in.

Then the story dragged on and on. I felt like half of the book was filler with nothing happening. I’m not someone who needs a book filled with plot but this one didn’t offer anything in the filler pages. It didn’t go into character depth or anything that made me think. It went from scene to scene where Henry and Clare are either eating, having social events with friends and family, or having sex. All of it felt empty and meaningless because you could essentially cut the scene out and it wouldn’t change anything in the book.

The characters were so in love with each other but I never understood why. I was told by the author that they were but it was not actually shown. Sure they had scenes together where they discussed their love and did some romantic stuff but none of it had enough depth to convince me.

Another problem I had with the book was the writing. I thought it was awful – truly, truly bad. The author wrote in these short and incredibly simplistic sentences that it felt like a 14 year old girl wrote them. I’d give some examples but I left it at the resort – I had no interest in returning that clunker home.

Her sentences were something like this: Clare sat on the couch. Henry poured himself a drink. Gomez raised his eyebrow at Henry. Clare told Henry not to drink.

A moment Henry has where he feels like he really knows Clare: Her favourite food in the whole world was vanilla ice cream (as a child).  As an adult, her favourite food is sushi, especially from x place in Chicago.

Wow, so insightful.

That is essentially how she wrote the entire novel. After the novelty of the time traveling story wore off on me, I struggled to get through it because it felt so pointless and quite frankly, badly written.

One thought on “Review of Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffeneger

  1. He he, this review is awesome. I remember liking this book, but I can’t actually disagree with any of your criticisms. I think part of the problem sometimes is that people rave about a book, there’s so much hype, but when you read it, there’s a lack of substance.

    Like

Leave a Reply

